PDF Print E-mail

The Belgian War Press

 

The Belgian War Press: a User-Friendly Access to the Digitised War Press

The Belgian War Press introduces you to hundreds of Belgian newspapers that were written, printed and distributed clandestinely during the two World Wars. Until now, this clandestine press had remained hidden in many archives, libraries and documentation centres. At the initiative of the CEGESOMA and funded by Belspo, these newspapers have been digitized. It is now possible to read and search them at home. Also the censored press of the First World War can be consulted in this way.


First page of the clandestine newspaper "Patrie!", n°14, July 1916. (Cegesoma, collection The Belgian War Press)
First page of the clandestine newspaper "Patrie!", n°14, July 1916. (Cegesoma, collection The Belgian War Press)

New Research Methods

The website has two functions. It offers access to the collections, and also the context to facilitate the use of this source for a non-specialised public.


Making the collections accessible is the first objective of the site. The reader can search in a variety of ways. The newspapers can be consulted in a traditional way via lists of alphabetical titles (per war and per type of press), in combination with a practical calendar. As these newspapers have also been OCR-ised, their complete content can also be searched via a random word. This is very useful when looking for information on events in a village or a specific neighbourhood, on sabotages or strikes, or on a particular company.


The website is a major step forward for academic research, not only because the different titles have been assembled, but also because searching by a specific word leads to an efficiency gain. Furthermore, research on the newspapers themselves has become a lot easier (for example analysis of the use of words and discourse, iconography, the editorial line…).


Context Information
This website is not only a tool for accessibility and consultation, but also provides context information on the censored and clandestine press during the two World Wars. From the start, the objective of the project was to stimulate the use of this rich collection, not only by specialised researchers, but also by the 'broad public'. The press lends itself well to this purpose. It gives information (sometimes in a tendentious way) on very different aspects of daily life, and on questions which seem trivial at first sight, but are in fact essential in the context of wars, such as rationing (for example rationing tables, publicity for ersatz products, etc.). The press is also a first rate source for local historians. The clandestine press in particular offers multiple possibilities, because of its often local presence and distribution.


To initiate and guide the non-specialised reader, short articles have been published on the site related to the clandestine and censored press and to certain newspapers and the people who played a central role in them. The reader will furthermore find a digitised version of the most important repertoires and reference works on the clandestine and censored press in Belgium.


The Federal Digitisation Project

CegeSoma's own collections possess the major part of the clandestine press from the Second World War and could be completed with the collections of many other collection holding institutions, federal (the Royal Library, the General Archives) as well as Flemish, Walloon and Brussels. The added value is not only the online accessibility, but also the possibility to consult hardcopy collections spread among different institutions.

PDF Version imprimable Suggérer par mail

The Belgian War Press

 

"The Belgian War Press": un mode d’accès convivial à la presse de guerre numérisée

Le site web The Belgian War Press vous emmène dans l'univers de centaines de journaux belges qui ont été rédigés, imprimés et diffusés dans le plus grand secret pendant les deux guerres mondiales. Jusqu'à ce jour, cette presse clandestine était dissimulée dans de multiples centres de documentation, dépôts d'archives et bibliothèques. Ces journaux ont été numérisés à l'initiative du CEGESOMA, grâce à un financement de BELSPO. Vous pouvez de la sorte les lire et les parcourir aujourd'hui de chez vous. C'est également le cas pour la presse quotidienne censurée de la Première Guerre mondiale.


Première page du journal clandestin "Patrie!", n° 14, juillet 1916. (Cegesoma, collection The Belgian War Press)
Première page du journal clandestin "Patrie!", n° 14, juillet 1916. (Cegesoma, collection The Belgian War Press)

 

Nouvelles méthodes de recherche
Le site a deux fonctions. Outre l'accès aux collections, il offre aussi le contexte destiné à faciliter l'utilisation de cette source pour un public non spécialisé.


La mise en accès est le premier objectif du site. Le lecteur peut effectuer des recherches de différentes manières. Les journaux peuvent être lus de manière classique via des listes de titres alphabétiques (par guerre et par type de presse), en combinaison avec un calendrier pratique. Mais le lecteur peut également effectuer des recherches à partir d'un mot déterminé puisque les fonds digitalisés ont été traités à l'aide d'un programme OCR. Dès lors, il est par exemple très facile de retrouver rapidement les événements survenus dans un village ou une ville en particulier.


Le site représente un grand progrès pour la recherche, non seulement parce que les différents titres ont été rassemblés, mais aussi parce que la recherche sur un mot conduit à un gain d'efficacité. En outre, la recherche portant sur les journaux à proprement parler devient désormais beaucoup plus facile (par exemple, analyse de l'utilisation des mots et du discours, iconographie, ligne rédactionnelle…).

Mise en contexte
Le site n'offre pas seulement la possibilité de consulter les journaux; il fournit également des informations contextuelles sur la presse clandestine et la presse censurée des deux guerres mondiales.

L'objectif du CEGESOMA est en effet de stimuler les chercheurs spécialisés, mais aussi le 'grand public' des non-spécialistes, à utiliser cette collection unique. La presse s'y prête très bien. Elle fournit (certes souvent de façon tendancieuse) des informations sur des aspects très différents de la vie quotidienne. C'est le cas sur des questions à première vue banales, mais dans le contexte de guerre essentielles, comme le ravitaillement (tableaux de rationnement, réclame pour des produits ersatz, etc.). Pour l'histoire locale, la presse est une source de premier plan. C'est surtout la presse clandestine qui offre ici, du fait de son implantation et de sa diffusion souvent locale, de multiples possibilités.


Pour initier et guider le lecteur non spécialisé, de courts articles sont publiés sur le site sur les phénomènes de la presse clandestine et censurée et sur certains journaux ou figures qui y ont joué un rôle central. Le lecteur trouvera en outre une version numérisée des plus importants répertoires et travaux de référence sur la presse clandestine et censurée belge.

 

Un projet de grande envergure
La digitalisation de la presse censurée de la Première Guerre mondiale, un projet pour lequel le CEGESOMA a étroitement collaboré avec la Bibliothèque Royale (KBR), a été financé par la Politique scientifique Fédérale (BELSPO).

Le CEGESOMA et la KBR possèdent d'importantes collections de journaux de la Première Guerre mondiale, mais afin d'élargir le nombre de titres proposés, ils ont fait appel à d'autres institutions. La plus-value du site ne tient donc pas uniquement à la possibilité de consultation en ligne, mais également à la réunion virtuelle des collections papier dispersées dans plusieurs institutions.