PDF Print E-mail

‘La valise oubliée. Enfants de guerre (1940-1945)’. Interview of the author of the book, Gerlinda Swillen by Alain Colignon.

 Touchy, sometimes difficult and often unknown, such is the history of children born from romances between Belgian women and Wehrmacht soldiers.


The CegeSoma (State Archives) and the Auschwitz Foundation – Remembrance of Auschwitz are pleased to invite you to the presentation of the latest book by Dr Gerlinda Swillen titled 'La valise oubliée. Enfants de guerre (1940-1945)' * on the occasion of which the author will be interviewed by Alain Colignon. Read more...

In memoriam Jacques Wynants

 Jacques Wynants – our “big Jacques” as senior colleagues at CegeSoma recall him – has passed away in the manner in which he desired: quietly, discretely…
He left us on Sunday 18 November 2018, in the wake of the First World War commemorations, which in recent years had taken a lot of his attention as a passionate researcher. Read more...

‘Grenzeloos verzet’ (Boundless Resistance), a unique case study on the cross-border resistance during the Second World War

 On 16 October 2018, Paul De Jongh, who is an associated researcher of CegeSoma, will present his book 'Grenzeloos verzet. Over spionerende monniken, ontsnappingslijnen en het Hannibalspiel, 1940-1943', Turnhout, Brepols, 2018, 344 p.


March 1943. The German secret police surrounded the abbey of Val-Dieu and two of its monks were arrested for participating  in resistance activities: H. Jacobs of Antwerp and E. Muhren of Bergen op Zoom.


A short time later, 80 arrests were made in Belgium and in the Netherlands. Read more...

New criteria for the associated researchers of CegeSoma

 The research on the history of the world wars is not the monopoly of professional historians. Other researchers who are not associated with a university or who are active in disciplines other than history have often made fundamental contributions. CegeSoma has long associated them with its activities, originally as correspondents, later as associated researchers. To better integrate them in the academic activities of CegeSoma, we have recently adapted their status. Read more...

Meeting the Associated Researchers

 On 23 May, we invited our associated researchers to CegeSoma. During this internal study day, a majority of the (meanwhile fifteen) researchers presented their project to the academic staff. The subjects were as rich as they were diverse: the family memory and the collaboration (both subjects related to the Second World War), a biographical study of Hugo Claus, the volunteers from Belgium in the Spanish civil war,… The Second World War is undoubtedly the dominant theme within this group of researchers. Read more...

Associated Researchers at Cegesoma

Scholarly research about 20th century conflicts has long ceased to be the exclusive domain of academic historians. Scholars from other disciplines, as well as non-academic researchers are now actively pulling their weight in the field. This yields results that are often as diverse as they are valuable. The status of associated researcher (read the criteria here) allows to integrate this research in the functioning of CegeSoma.

Contact: dirk.luyten@arch.be

  Read more...

PDF Version imprimable Suggérer par mail

‘La valise oubliée. Enfants de guerre (1940-1945)’

 Délicate, parfois très dure et souvent méconnue, l'histoire des enfants nés des amours entre des femmes belges et des soldats de la Wehrmacht.

Le CegeSoma (Archives de l'Etat)' et l'asbl Mémoire d'Auschwitz (éditeur) ont le plaisir de vous inviter au CegeSoma le 21 janvier 2019 à 14 heures 30 pour écouter la Dre Gerlinda Swillen qui sera interviewée par Alain Colignon à l'occasion de la publication de son dernier ouvrage 'La valise oubliée. Enfants de Guerre (1940-1945)' . Lire la suite...

In memoriam Jacques Wynants

 Jacques Wynants – « notre » Grand Jacques, pour les 'anciens' du CegeSoma – nous a quittés comme il l'a souhaité, sur la pointe des pieds, en toute discrétion …
C'était le dimanche 18 novembre 2018, au lendemain des commémorations de cette 'Grande Guerre', qui avait retenu toute son attention de chercheur passionné.
Lire la suite...

‘Grenzeloos verzet’, une étude de cas unique sur la résistance transfrontalière durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

 Le 16 octobre 2018, Paul De Jongh, chercheur associé du CegeSoma, viendra présenter son livre intitulé 'Grenzeloos verzet. Over spionerende monniken, ontsnappingslijnen en het Hannibalspiel, 1940-1943', Turnhout, Brepols, 2018, 344 p.

Mars 1943. La police secrète allemande encercle  l'abbaye du Val-Dieu et deux de ses moines sont arrêtés pour faits de résistance, H. Jacobs originaire d'Anvers et E. Muhren de Bergen op Zoom.

Peu de temps après, 80 arrestations vont suivre tant en Belgique qu'aux Pays-Bas. Lire la suite...

Nouveaux critères pour les chercheurs associés du CegeSoma

 La recherche consacrée à l'histoire des conflits mondiaux n'est pas l'apanage exclusif des historiens professionnels. Des chercheurs qui ne sont pas liés à des universités ou qui sont actifs dans d'autres disciplines que l'histoire sont également souvent les auteurs de contributions fondamentales.  Le CegeSoma les a d'ailleurs depuis longtemps impliqués au sein de ses travaux, d'abord en tant que correspondants, puis comme chercheurs associés. Pour davantage les intégrer dans les activités académiques du CegeSoma, nous avons récemment adapté le statut des chercheurs associés. 

Lire la suite...

Une journée d'échanges destinée aux chercheurs associés

 Le 23 mai dernier, nous avons invité les chercheurs associés au CegeSoma. Au cours de cette journée, la plupart des désormais quinze chercheurs ont présenté leur projet au personnel scientifique. Les thèmes furent aussi fascinants que variés : la mémoire familiale et la collaboration (les deux concernant la Seconde Guerre mondiale), la vie d'Hugo Claus, les brigadistes de la Guerre d'Espagne venus de Belgique… En général, la Seconde Guerre mondiale reste le thème dominant de ces recherches. Lire la suite...

Les chercheurs associés du CegeSoma

Depuis longtemps, la recherche sur l'histoire des conflits du 20e siècle n'est plus l'apanage exclusif des historiens affiliés à une université ou à une institution scientifique. En effet, de nombreux chercheurs issus d'autres disciplines, ou des chercheurs n'étant pas (ou plus) affiliés à une université ou à des institutions scientifiques, mènent des recherches variées et souvent de grande qualité. Le statut de chercheur associé (vous trouverez les critères ici) permet d'effectuer ces recherches au sein du CegeSoma.

Personne de contact : dirk.luyten@arch.be
 

 

  Lire la suite...