Mission & organisation of the Cegesoma

Mission & organisation of the Cegesoma

Mission of the CegeSoma

The Study- and Documentation Centre for War and Contemporary Society is the Belgian expertise centre for the history of 20th century conflicts. Since 1 January 2016 it is the Fourth Operational Directorate (OD4) of the State Archives (see programme act of 26 December 2015 and royal order of 23 May 2016)

Our priority lies with the history of  the First- and the Second World War, including their causes, their longer term consequences and impact, the issues of collective memoires and broader social debat regarding their legacies. Our core tasks are historic research, public history activities, documentation and digitization. 

Organisation and Staff 

Responsibilities and Expertise of the Scientific staff per Domain

  • Nico Wouters : Head of the Fourth Operational Directorate (Second World War (local administration and collaboration, policy of the lesser evil, persecution of Jews) and the role of states in history and commemorative policies)
  • Michael Auwers : research (Belgian foreign policy, Cold War, First World War, diplomacy, democratisation) and support for the Journal of Belgian History
  • Anne Chardonnens : Digitisation (digital humanities, quality of digital data, memory of colonisation, iconographic analysis).
  • Alain Colignon : Library and public information (20th century conflicts (1914-1950), collaboration, resistance, geopolitics, memory and collective representations, social semiology)
  • Fabrice Maerten : Valorisation of the collections (resistance, Catholic world, Second World War, Hainaut, daily life)
  • Isabelle Ponteville : Communication & events
  • Dirk Luyten : Research (legal history, socio-economic history, social policy)
  • Chantal Kesteloot : Public history (history of Brussels, war memories, nationalism and identity)
  • Gertjan Desmet : Archives management (military justice, Jewish populations in Belgium, private associations)

Domain and Tasks

  • Archives: Gertjan Desmet, Fabrice Maerten, Gerd De Coster, Roland Baumann, Dora Beullens, Emile Dejehansart, Marc De Win, Florian Kössler, Francis Lambrechts, Dirk Martin, Yvette Martin, Bruno Picard, Maximilian Pröll, Nico Theunissen, Abdelkader Bouanane
  • Library: Alain Colignon, Hilde Keppens, Kathleen Vandenberghe, Marie Kozyreff
  • Audio-visual archives: Anne Chardonnens, Somaya Bounekoub, Isabelle Sampieri
  • Public history: Chantal Kesteloot
  • Reading Room: Somaya Bounekoub, Gerd De Coster, Hilde Keppens, Abdelkader Bouanane, Kathleen Vandenberghe
  • Belgrade Depot: Gertjan Desmet, Kathleen Vandenberghe, Abdelkader Bouanane
  • Digitalization: Anne Chardonnens (from 1.11.2020), Gerd De Coster,  Somaya Bounekoub, Moussa Lasouad
  • Communication & Events : Isabelle Ponteville
  • Journal of Belgian History: Nico Wouters, Dirk Luyten, Hilde Keppens

Project Researchers

Support Services

  • Secretariat: Karima Richa, Lut Van Daele
  • Maintenance: Léo Baudelet, Fouzia Mahi, Abdelkader Bouanane