Welcome to CegeSoma (State Archives)

Who are we? CegeSoma is the fourth operational direction of the State Archives and the Belgian centre of expertise for the history of 20th century conflicts. We conduct fundamental historical research, develop public history projects, conserve archives and documentation and are engaged in societal debate.

Quick access to

Focus

From San Francisco to Anderlecht, tracing the path of an uncle, a B-17 navigator

How to research a relative’s experience during World War 2, when an ocean and 78 years separate a family from the time and place where it all happened? This is the story of how – with the help of CegeSoma - two brothers, Steve and Rick Katz, learned how their uncle, Monroe Gordon, was saved by Belgian resistance fighters in 1944.

Agenda

Study day

The Resistance: New research tools, new approaches

The CegeSoma/State Archives and the State Archives in Liège are pleased to welcome you to a study day in Liège on Monday 17 October to discover the numerous tools that have been developed over the past years to thoroughly...Read more

17/10 2022
Illustration : affiche de recrutement 'Il crée de la richesse' conçue par André Linglet, ca 1950 (Archives du musée de la mine de Beringen)
Conference

The energy crisis: a sense of 'déjà vu'?

Conference-debate in Dutch with guest Guy Coppieters (State Archives). An interview by Dirk Luyten (CegeSoma/State Archives).

After the brief euphoria of the Liberation in September 1944, the war drags on and chaos reigns....Read more

19/10 2022
Cinema Capitole in Gent, photo no 5937, copyrights CegeSoma/State Archives
Colloquium

Media and cultural life in occupied Western Europe (1940-1945)

Press, radio, cinema, literature, theatre, spectacles… In German-occupied Europe, all of these sectors are under strict control of the national-socialist apparatus. Their fate is thus linked. However, current research rarely...Read more

07/11 2022 to 08/11 2022

Bienvenue au CegeSoma (Archives de l'Etat)

Qui sommes-nous? Le CegeSoma,  quatrième direction opérationnelle des Archives de l'Etat est le centre d'expertise belge de l'histoire des conflits du 20e siècle. Nous effectuons de la recherche historique fondamentale, développons des projets d'histoire publique, conservons de la documentation et nous impliquons dans les débats sociétaux.

Accès rapide à

Focus

Monroe Gordon (à l'extrême gauche à l’arrière) devant le Dollie Madison, février 1944  (Collection privée de la famille Katz)

De San Francisco à Anderlecht, sur les traces d’un oncle aviateur

Comment faire des recherches sur le passé d’un parent pendant la guerre, quand un océan nous sépare des lieux où les faits ont eu lieu? Portraits croisés de Monroe Gordon, membre de l’US Air Force sauvé par des résistants belges en 1944, et de deux frères, Steve et Rick Katz, déterminés à reconstituer l’histoire de leur oncle 78 ans plus tard, avec l’aide du CegeSoma.

Agenda

Journée d'étude

La Résistance : nouveaux outils, nouvelles approches

Le CegeSoma/Archives de l'Etat et les Archives de l'Etat à Liège ont le plaisir de vous inviter le lundi 17 octobre aux Archives de l'Etat à Liège à une journée d'étude consacrée aux nombreux outils développés ces dernières...Lire la suite

17/10 2022
Illustration : affiche de recrutement 'Il crée de la richesse' conçue par André Linglet, ca 1950 (Archives du musée de la mine de Beringen)
Conférence

La crise de l’énergie: un sentiment de déjà « vécu » ?

Conférence-débat en néerlandais avec, en invité, Guy Coppieters (Archives générales du Royaume). Un entretien mené par Dirk Luyten (CegeSoma/Archives de l'Etat).

Après la brève euphorie de la Libération en septembre...Lire la suite

19/10 2022
Cinéma Capitole à Gand, photo n°5937, copyrights CegeSoma/Archives de l'Etat.
Colloque

Médias et vie culturelle en Europe de l’ouest occupée (1940-1945)

Presse censurée, radio, cinéma, littérature, culture du spectacle,… Dans l’Europe occupée par le IIIe Reich , tous ces domaines ont en commun d’être soumis à un contrôle strict de l’appareil national-socialiste. Leur histoire...Lire la suite

07/11 202208/11 2022